Skip to Content

UPMC Physicians and Pitt Faculty Receive J. Leonard Goldner Award

September 22, 2020

Physicians from UPMC's Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation received the prestigious J. Leonard Goldner Award for their outstanding research paper at the American Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Society (AOFAS) Annual Meeting (September 10-12, 2020).

Several University of Pittsburgh research faculty were also among the winners for this collaborative paper discussing the ability of high mobility group protein B1 (HMGB1) to mediate the development of tendinopathy due to mechanical overloading.

2020 Award Recipients 

Winning Paper
Inhibition of HMGB1 by Metformin Prevents Mechanical Overloading-Induced Tendinopathy
UPMC Physicians 
MaCalus V. Hogan, MD
UPMC Orthopaedic Care
University of Pittsburgh Research Faculty
Jianying Zhang, PhD
Research Associate Professor,
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Feng Li, MD, PhD
Research Assistant Professor,
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Daibang Nie, PhD
Postdoctoral Research Associate,
MechanoBiology Laboratory
James H-C. Wang, PhD
Albert B. Ferguson Jr. Chair Professor and Vice Chair of Research,
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery

About the J. Leonard Goldner Award

The prestigious J. Leonard Goldner Award is given in recognition of the outstanding basic science paper presented at the AOFAS Annual Meeting. Nominated studies are selected by the Program Committee from blinded abstracts submitted for consideration for the scientific program. Established in 1998 with a gift from J. Leonard Goldner, MD, the award is presented to the senior author and includes a framed certificate and monetary award. 

Interested in receiving specialty-specific information? Register for UPMC Physician Resources to get emerging research, clinical updates, and free CME straight to your inbox.