Skip to Content

News from the Division of Pediatric Pulmonary Medicine

December 11, 2019

The Division of Pediatric Pulmonary Medicine at UPMC Children’s is pleased to welcome its newest faculty member, Jane Taylor, MD. Dr. Taylor earned her medical degree from the University of North Carolina School of Medicine, followed by residency at Vanderbilt University and a fellowship in pulmonary medicine at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, Missouri. Prior to joining UPMC Children’s, Dr. Taylor was an associate professor of Pediatrics at the University of Missouri Kansas City School of Medicine and practiced at Children’s Mercy Hospital in Kansas City.

Dr. Taylor’s clinical and research interests include interstitial lung disease, asthma and the environmental factors that affect lung health, extreme premature and chronic lung disease of infancy, and neuromuscular conditions and their effect on airway clearance impairment.

At UPMC Children’s, Dr. Taylor will work to establish and lead a new pulmonary clinic for neuromuscular patients.

Juan C. Celedón, MD, DrPH, ATSF, is the president-elect of the American Thoracic Society for the 2019-2020 term and will assume the role of president for the 2020-2021 term. 

Dr. Celedón is the Niels K. Jerne Professor of Pediatrics and Medicine, and Chief of the Division of Pediatric Pulmonary Medicine at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine.

Dr. Celedón earned a degree in medicine from Javeriana University in Colombia and a doctoral degree in public health from Harvard University. He completed a residency in Internal Medicine at Beth Israel Medical Center in New York, a fellowship in Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at Brown University, and a research fellowship at the Channing Laboratory of Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School. In 2000, he joined the faculty at Harvard Medical School, rising to associate professor before joining the University of Pittsburgh in 2010.

Dr. Celedón’s research has focused on asthma, COPD, and health disparities in airway diseases. His scientific contributions have been acknowledged through his election to the American Society for Clinical Investigation and the Association of American Physicians, as well as through the ATS Recognition Award for Scientific Accomplishments, among other honors. A devoted mentor, he was the first faculty member to ever receive both the Young Mentor Award and the A. Clifford Barger Excellence in Mentoring Award from Harvard Medical School.