Skip to Content

UPMC Children’s Chief of Pediatric Neurosurgery Elected Chair of the American Board of Pediatric Neurological Surgery

December 18, 2021

UPMC Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh congratulates Ian F. Pollack, MD, FAANS, FACS, FAAP, on being elected the Chair of the American Board of Pediatric Neurosurgery for its 2022 term.

Dr. Pollack is the A. Leland Albright Professor and Chief of Pediatric Neurosurgery at UPMC Children’s, Co-Director of Neurosurgical Oncology, and Vice-Chairman for Academic Affairs in the Department of Neurological Surgery at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine. He is a Distinguished Professor of Neurosurgery and also holds an appointment as Professor of Clinical and Translational Science.

Dr. Pollack previously served as Vice-Chair of the American Board of Pediatric Neurosurgery for the 2021 term, and he has been a member of the Board of Directors for the organization since 2012.  He is also a Director on the Accreditation Council for Pediatric Neurosurgery Fellowships.

Clinical and Research Focus

Dr. Pollack has published more than 380 papers in refereed journals, numerous book chapters and invited papers, and has edited four books on pediatric neurosurgery and childhood brain tumors. He is co-editor of the book Principles and Practice of Pediatric Neurosurgery  — currently in its third edition — and an accompanying atlas Operative Techniques In Pediatric Neurosurgery, as well as Brain and Spinal Tumors of Childhood, a multinational state-of-the-art text.

Dr. Pollack is a principal investigator on National Institutes of Health grants focusing on novel therapies for brain tumors, including immunotherapy in childhood brain tumors. 

Some of Dr. Pollack’s other work with national organization leadership includes chairing the Children’s Oncology Group CNS Tumor Committee from 1999-2009, co-chairing the National Cancer Institute Brain Malignancy Steering Committee between 2010 and 2017, and currently serving on the Executive Committee of the Pediatric Brain Tumor Consortium.